Temp : 26°C   Humi : 96%
2022-06-30 20:54:26
Social Security System

Brief Introduction

Effective on 1 January 2011, Law No. 4/2010 (Social Security System) is the first tier of the two-tier social security system.  The current social security coverage covers all residents in Macao to allow them receive basic old-age security.  

The social security contribution system consists of the obligatory system and arbitrary system.  Local employees and employers with an employment relationship are required to make obligatory system contributions to the Social Security Fund (abbreviated to FSS in Macao), and other Macao residents who meet certain legal requirements can also make contributions by enrolling in the arbitrary system.    Under the operating principles of social insurance, residents can enjoy old-age pension, disability pension, unemployment allowance, sickness allowance, birth allowance, marriage allowance and funeral allowance in accordance with the law by fulfilling their contribution obligations, providing residents with basic social security, especially old-age security, in order to improve the quality of life of residents.

The fiscal revenue of the FSS mainly comes from the fixed contributions of beneficiaries enrolled in this System (employees, employers and arbitrary system contributors), employment fee for non-resident workers, 1% appropriation from the recurrent income of government’s total budget, appropriation from gambling revenue, and income from investment.  On 13 August 2019, Law No. 14/2019 (Consolidation of the Financial Resources of the Social Security Fund) came into effect to increase the financial sources of the FSS.  The Law stipulates that 3% of the balance of Macao SAR’s central budget implementation after the end of each fiscal year shall be allocated to the FSS.

Last updated: March 2021